top of page

The Best & Worst of Met Gala 2018


Zoe Stephens and Trent Vu share their Top 5 and Worst 5 lists of looks from the 2018 Met Gala.

The Met Gala is the chance for Hollywood to live their best lives, spend buttloads of money and express themselves through the medium of farshun. This year's theme was 'Heavenly Bodies: Fashion and the Catholic Imagination'. And some goddesses definitely brought their A game. Others, however, served looks that weren't so heavenly. We're all mortals, I guess!

Zoe's Top 5

Before we begin, I will acknowledge that there were some gorgeous outfits that didn’t make this cut. Either they just didn’t give me enough or they weren’t on theme. I am only going to acknowledge people that actually stuck to the theme, I’m not interested in LBDs and prom vibes. Christianity is about wealth, opulence, and bling so to quote Fergie’s Glamorous, “if you ain’t got no money, take your broke ass home!”

5. Blake Lively

I honestly wasn’t really expecting this from Blake? She does always wear a very gorgeous silhouette but I feel like this completely came out of the blue! I love this look — especially the contrast between the rich burgundy with the gold embroidery. It’s so intricate, referential, but still modern? Also, matching shoes! S really came to serve this year! xoxo

4. Kim Kardashian

If you know me, you know I love two things: Versace and Kim Kardashian. This look was off the charts. I agree with the abundance of complaints surrounding the simplicity of outfits during this year’s Met Gala. However, Kim’s stands apart from the rest. The fit is undeniably incredible… heavenly bodies, am I right? The classic Versace gold chainmail and crosses definitely reminds me of the ornate accents of St Peter’s Basilica. Loves it!

3. Zendaya

Zendaya owned this look. She is serving Joan of Arc realness in this Versace chainmail ensemble. Thank God (haha) there were some people who actually brought a level of theatricality to the Met Gala this year. She’s only 21 years old and is actually bringing Rihanna level fashion. A modern icon.

2. Chadwick Boseman

I feel like Chadwick brings it to us every ball. I appreciate a man that’s not afraid to stray beyond the realm of a plain black tux. Chadwick, like Rihanna, has done his reading for this subject and aced the test. He even matched his shoes to the suit. Truly the King of Wakanda.

1. Rihanna

Everyone knows that Rihanna is queen of the Met Gala, and tonight was no exception. She definitely served us her Rihligion and personally I lived, died, and was resurrected for it. The amount of detail in the garment, as well as the Pope hat, was the perfect mixture of fashion, religion, and controversy.

I would like to note that 4/5 of my favourite looks were all Versace, you go Donatella!

Zoe's Worst 5

5. Kylie Jenner

I was rooting for an incredible outfit from Kylie. I was subsequently disappointed. Also, how does this fit the theme whatsoever? I’m at a loss for words. Did you not see what Kim was going to wear?

4. Hailey Baldwin

To be fair, the only reason she’s on my list is because I expected more. Hailey usually brings some incredible looks to the red carpet, but this was just so boring. The theme is so open to some classic blasphemy, but instead we got an Asos prom dress at 35% off. Girl… I expected better from you.

3. Amal Clooney

I just don’t get it? I’m not a big fan of the faux dress/pant thing… Also, it’s a fashion faux pas that has been rated terrible in the past, so I’m not sure what she was thinking.

2. Jaden Smith

I’m not even going to dignify this outfit with a review.

1. Selena Gomez

Honestly girl, you’ve worn the same dress to the last three Met Galas. I have receipts. Also I can’t deal with this Ross Geller tan. The dress is basic, her makeup is bad, and her tan is undeniably worse. Can you ban someone from the Met Gala?

Trent's Top 5

5. Katherine Langford

With most others going for metallic or black and white, I love love love that Katherine went for colour. Sure the red dress itself is a little high school formal, but the magenta embroidered cape takes this look up, up and away! This is giving me Goddess of Love vibes. She's representing Australia well.

4. Emilia Clarke

Black and Gold by Sam Sparro is a bop. And so is this dress. The embroidery on this Dolce & Gabbana gown is insane, and the cherubs really fit both the look and the theme of the Met Gala. She looks every bit the queen she is (both on and off the screen).

3. Chadwick Boseman

Chadwick is fast becoming an icon of men's fashion. He shows that men can do much more than a typical suit. He's been serving look after look after look. No one rocks an embroidered jacket like he can. I actually audibly gasped when I saw this for the first time.

2. Amanda Seyfried

On Wednesdays, we might wear pink, but at the Met Gala, we serve regal realness. She looks like a radiant sun goddess. This yellow looks divine on Amanda, and the hair and headpiece are perfect accompaniments. I love her. I love this. I love everything. "I'm a queen, duh!"

1. Blake Lively

Speaking of queens. My lord. Blake came to play tonight. I live for the OTTness of this dress. It's giving me Baroque and Medieval vibes, but the scoop neck keeps it modern. The detail is INCREDIBLE. Usually I'm not a huge fan of too many textures together, but this just works in the context of this dress. Apparently it took over 600 hours to make it. But Rome wasn't built in a day, as they say!

Trent's Worst 5

5. Scarlett Johansson

I loved her in Avengers: Infinity War. I do not love this dress. Firstly, what relevance does it have to the Met Gala theme? 80s prom was not the theme, honey! Also, why does it have polka dots? And it literally looks like a tampon soaking up period blood. Or like a tissue shoved up someone's bleeding nose. Yikes. This alone makes her beat out Darren Criss, Mindy Kaling and Salma Hayek to earn a spot on my worst dressed list.

4. Amal Clooney

No to the mullet dress. No to the pants. No to the tropical print that has 0 relevance to the theme. You're co-hosting, lady! The worst part is that she looks so happy wearing this mess of an outfit. And so does George. Honestly, his boring black tux is so much better than whatever the hell she has on.

3. Alicia Vikander

Everything about this is tragic. The make-up, the dominatrix gloves and especially that dress. She does look v upset to be seen in public wearing this hot mess. Who did this to you? Who hurt you, Alicia???

2. Claire Danes

Is colour blocking still a thing? I don't know. This dress is atrocious. Like there's no shape at all. Looks like a Janome project gone wrong. Very, very wrong. Plus it's wrinkly. She needed a garment steamer real bad. The chunky necklace and her bag are just as bad.

1. Jaden Smith

No. No. No. No. Dude, you've been given the chance to go to one of the biggest events of the year, and you do this? PISS OFF.

FEATURED POST
RECENT POSTS
FOLLOW WASTELAND
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Black Instagram Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE 
bottom of page